Parrot Plant Appreciation!

Featured in The Digital Shop  are the five illustrations. These were the result of a challenge I set myself to create a series of artwork , having never created a body of work before. Each illustration has its own starting point…its own story of creation.

Hi Tigers!!

 I want to share the story of  ‘Hanging Heliconia’ with you.

Print 1 copy
P2 ‘Hanging Heliconia’ digital download printable

Many years ago during studying A Level Art, I guess I was around 18 maybe 19 years old… I painted (for myself) a watercolour of a hanging ‘Heliconia’ plant. This plant is affectionately nicked named the ‘Parrot Plant’.

1
P2 ‘Hanging Heliconia’ Digital Download Art Printable

I had troubled deciding on how to complete a particular part of the background, so left it unfinished as I didn’t want to ruin what I had achieved by tampering with it further.

2

Whilst on a trip to Barbados my family and I visited the Andromeda Botanical Gardens. I was struck with happiness as I turned a corner and saw hundreds of these Heliconia hanging gracefully in front of me. It was at that moment I realized that I had painted my parrot plant upside down…but I think its looks good any way you fling flang hang it. 🙂

3

At the time and still today I smile at the appropriate nick name for the plant which really does resemble the beak of a parrot, and I like parrots…very much.  Aesthetically, parrots are so much fun to draw and always seem happy. Which I enjoy. My water colour painting boosted my confidence…just a little as I could see that my skills were improving.

Hanging Heliconia is up in the  Digital Shop as a 8 x 10 ( 188mm x 238mm ) instant download printable. Take a looksy here!

4

The preparation behind opening an online shop was a slightly overwhelming but very exciting. Featured in the shop is a series of illustrations which are  an ongoing development of artwork for a clothing collection I planed to unleash…but didn’t come into fruition. You can read more about the inspiration for the full series here! 

Tag me!  INSTAGRAM

Holla at me!   TWITTER    

Share your thoughts with me!  FACEBOOK

Until next time.

x

Leave your comments

